A Friend for the Ages

I was 7 when my family moved into our first new home in Green Bay, Wisconsin. We were so proud. The year was 1955 and as very good luck would have it, the house was situated right next door to a family who had a daughter named Donna. She and I became very best friends. She was a year younger than me and an only child. I was the eldest of what was to become a family of 5 children.

My friend and neighbour, Donna

My friend and neighbour, Donna

Donna and I grew up side by side and did everything together. We went to the same school, played Monopoly, rode bikes, went swimming, took the bus into town and played dolls and dollhouses.  We were inseparable.

Together with our friends Mary Ellen, Linda and Suzie, we even put on amateur circus and talent shows. We were all close to the same age and became a circle of best girlfriends.

As we grew older, we went to high school together, attended school dances and Proms and sometimes even double-dated.

After leaving high school, I got married and moved to Texas. Donna came to visit when my husband was away serving in Vietnam. We went to the World’s Fair in San Antonio and to Mexico together. We always had a ball!

Then our lives went in very different directions, but as is the hallmark of true friendships, we remained in touch and when we spoke, it was like no time had elapsed. I lived in a different state, so every time I went home, a visit and stay with Donna was a must.When my parents died, she was there. Donna and her mother Red were like my family.

We shared a wonderful friendship as young girls

As the years went on and I moved overseas, our visits became more infrequent, but there was always the phone. Whenever either of us was in trouble or had something wonderful to share, we were there for each other.

Now, for the first time in her life, Donna is leaving the US and travelling overseas – to Australia! She arrives on February 5th at 6.20am. I can’t tell you how excited I am to see her again.

But I wonder: will Australia be a culture shock for her or will she embrace this strange and wonderful country as I have? It’s been so long since I lived in the States, it’s hard for me now to see Australia through those fresh eyes I had when I first arrived…those same fresh eyes Donna will be seeing everything through.

I will let you know Donna’s first impressions. Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in General Post and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Friend for the Ages

  1. Sarah Staeven says:

    What a great blog about my mom! She is beyond excited to come and see you for her trip of a lifetime. I hope she comes back with great memories and stories to tell about all the adventures that you will have. Take care of her over there, take lots of pictures and keep in touch. I’m sure going to miss her while she’s gone…

  2. Kathi Kinney Heezen says:

    Donna will have a ball visiting you! It’s two crazy gals together again….friends for life.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Donna is very excited about her up coming trip. I am sure you and she along and Rodger will have a great 3 month adventure. Love the pictures you included in this blog. I enjoy reading all your stories.

  4. Louise Spear says:

    I love this story, Gale. I wonder if I ever met Donna at Preble High School.

  5. Frank Michiels (Donna's cousin in Seattle, WA.) says:

    Very cool Donna has such a great friend to visit in Australia. She’s going to have a blast and Australia will never be the same! If the Packers played there, I dare say, she might not come back. But since they don’t, we’ll be seeing her back in Green Bay at least by August. Good luck, Donna!!

  6. Pingback: Coming clean: My favourite household product | The Queen and I

  7. Pingback: When the Shopping gods Smile Upon You | The Queen and I

  8. Pingback: The loooong-awaited arrival! | The Queen and I

  9. Pingback: How to be a ‘Young Fool’ | The Queen and I

  10. Ramiro says:

    Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is a really neatly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn
    extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post.

    I will definitely return.

  11. Pingback: My anti-bucket list, or what I hope never to achieve! | The Queen and I

  12. Pingback: Why I’m yearning to get home to the Ridge | The Queen and I

  13. Pingback: The best laid plans of mice and men… | The Queen and I

Leave a comment